Home About CSO Link Site Map Contact Us
    Quick Access
    Statistics Myanmar
Myanmar In Brief
Statistical Law (Eng)
Statistical Law (Mya)
Survey Highlights
Market Price
CSO News
Selected Monthly Economic Indicators
Information and Reports
IMF National Summary Data Page (NSDP)
Press Release(New NSDP)

  Available for Sales
Statistical Yearbook 2018

Selected Monthly Economic Indicators(March 2019)

 Home >> Myanmar in Brief
Myanmar in Brief

       The Republic of the Union of Myanmar is geographically situated in Southeast Asia between latitudes 09° 32' N and 28° 31' N and longitudes 92° 10' E and 101° 11' E.
       Myanmar is bordered on the north and northeast by the People's Republic of China, on the east and southeast by the Lao People's Democratic Republic and the Kingdom of Thailand, on the south by the Andaman Sea and the Bay of Bengal and on the west by the People's Republic of Bangladesh and the Republic of India.
       East longitude 96° 13' and north latitude 16° 45' run through Yangon, the Capital City of Myanmar. Myanmar Standard Time, taken as on east longitude 97° 30' is six hours and thirty minutes ahead of Greenwich Mean Time.

       The total area of Myanmar is 2,61,228 square miles (6,77,000 square kilometres). It stretches for 582 miles (936 kilometres) from east to west and 1,275 miles (2,051 kilometres) from north to south.
       The length of contiguous frontier is 3,828 miles (6,129 kilometres), sharing 1,370 miles with China, 1,310 miles with Thailand, 832 miles with India, 1,687 miles with Bangladesh and 148 miles with Laos respectively. The length of the coastline from the month of Naaf River to Kawthaung is approximately 1,385 miles.

       The topography of Myanmar can roughly be divided into three parts: the Western Hills Region, the Central Valley Region and the Eastern Hill Region. The Himalayan Range has a link with Myanmar and is known as the Western Yoma that runs to the south. The Khakabo Razi which is situated in the northern most part of the Western Yoma is 19,296 feet high while the Sarameti is 12,553. The Western Yoma Range serves as a wall that separates Myanmar from India.
       The Central Valley Region consists of the broadest valley of the Ayeyawady. The first part of the River Ayeyawady is from the origin of river to Mandalay; the second part constitutes from Mandalay to Pyay and the third is the part from Pyay to the mouth of the river. The Central Valley Region consists of Sittaung Valley and Chindwin Valley. In the centre lies the small mountain ranges such as Zeebyu Taungdan, Min-wun Taungdan, Hman-kin Taungdan and Gangaw Taungdan. There also lies the low range of Bago Yoma that slopes down from north to south.
       The Eastern Hills Region is the Shan Plateau which is average 3,000 to 4,000 feet above sea-level. Unlike the plain, the plateau has high mountain ranges and the River Than Lwin flows through the Shan Plateau to the northern Taninthayi Coastal Strip. The rivers of Shweli, Myitnge, Zawgyi and Pan-laung which have their sources at the Shan Plateau flow into the River Ayeyawady.

    Top << Back Next >>
          Home | About CSO | Link | Site Map| Contact Us
    Myanmar In Brief | Statistical Act | Survey Highlights | Selected Indicators
    Copyright 2008 Central Statistical Organization. All rights reserved.   Designed By MIT Pte. Ltd.